Multiple Devices and Carts

What happens if a customer starts their cart on mobile (and enters their email) but checks out on desktop? Will they still receive abandoned cart emails?

When an order comes in, we will check for any other carts owned by that customer and delete them, since they are technically 'duplicate' carts and shouldn't receive any emails/be tracked separately.

We currently only check for other carts updated in the last 24 hours.

So, to illustrate the above with some examples.

Example 1

  • 9 am: Mobile - I add 2 items to my cart and enter my email.
  • 9.10 am: Mobile - I abandon my cart.
  • 10 am: Cart marked abandoned.
  • 10.10 am: Desktop - I go to the store, add 2 items to my cart, and checkout.
  • 10.10 am: Mobile cart deleted and no recovery emails sent.

Example 2

  • 9 am: Mobile - I add 2 items to my cart and enter my email.
  • 9.10 am: Mobile - I abandon my cart.
  • 10 am: Cart marked abandoned.
  • 11 am: Cart recovery email sent.
  • 11.30 am: I see the email but don't click the recovery link.
  • 12 pm: Desktop - I go the store, add 2 items to my cart, and checkout.
  • 12 pm: Mobile cart deleted and no more recovery emails sent.

We're open to changing this and are looking for feedback! Feel free to reach out on the live chat with any thoughts.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us